qu'est que c'est?

| No Comments AGAIN?! |
July 08, 2005 at 11:51 PM

I am so so SO unhappy right now, it's not even funny. I set up this template last night - paid money for the SuperGold membership. Just 'cause I'm a nice person, I decided to get Adam one too, since his last diaryland didn't work, and wanted to get him a SG membership as well, 'cause I didn't want to mess with HaloScan for comments.

So, I do that, and since I ruined my last commentsy-type template, I got the code from his and put it in mine, with a few changes (which you can view when you try to comment) However, when I did my test comments, they didn't show up. Grrrr. However, that didn't bother me TOO much, 'cause changes made don't ever show up on diaryland forever, so I didn't worry about it much.

His journal got set up quite easily, mostly 'cause Pink Designs have this nifty thing that writes practically all the code for you, so that all the editing you really need to do is hosting the images and copying and pasting where they're at. Comments worked fine - I remembered how to make those three little fields show up - all was well in the kingdom.

Except that Adam kept getting e-mails saying that he had comments. When he didn't. All day, it said he had comments. And he was confused. And so was I. And it just dawned on me this late at night that's what it was, 'cause it says the comments in the e-mails (we never scrolled down - we're such lazy bastards) and I don't know why it isn't working. 'cause his e-mail is set up for his comments - my e-mail is for mine. The code has no numbers that would possibly define it as his code as mine, though I'm quite sure the code is all the same anyway. I didn't see any place for usernames. And if there was one, then it was my name on my journal (since all my comments went to his e-mail, I don't now why) Gawd, this frustrates me. I paid for this so that I didn't have to try to figure out how to make Haloscan show up, and now my comments get lots and notifications are sent to other e-mails. Gawd. This is what I get for trying to make the comments page pretty.

I had to take a bath today. Only because my shower lacked the little switch/knob/pulley thing to make it shower. The landlord came in a few days ago and had to see if the pipes were leaking, and he replaced the faucet, which was awesome, but he forgot to give us one with a pulley thing so that we could shower. So, I've had to take baths all week. And it's gross. I'm marinating in my own filth. I took one today, and seriously, I felt dirtier after I got out that I did going in. I HATE baths - they're gross, and they're not very quick, either - they're too time consuming. If you're in a rush, than you hop in the shower and madly get clean. If you're in a bath, time slows to a standstill. You couldn't hurry if you tried.

Went shopping for my "uniform" today. Sue, the supervisor called today to tell me that I passed the piss test (no shit) and that she wanted me to start on Monday - excellent. I had to get solid black shoes (no, there may not be any other color whatsoever) and black pants and a black shirt/"work blouse" (wtf sort of phrase is that? "Work Blouse" - ugh) So, since I'm broke, I had to go to Target and get a V-neck and then went to payless and got these really cute ballet-type looking slipper shoes (except not so sissy looking as they sound) They're quite cute, and since they're flats, here's hoping that I can stand in them for all the hours that I'll be working. I'm kinda sad that my feet have to get re-used to being stood on all day. Poor things.

BOO-YAH!!! My stupid ass figured out how to fix the damn comments. My theory is that since I was in a stupor at the asscrack of dawn yesterday that my brain wasn't working properly, therefore not processing that the code HAD to have some sort of identifying name of the journalist, and that I didn't fix it (which I did) and I made a test comment, and they WORK!!!

::cut to The Emperor's New Groove-type quoting humor, a la Izma::

Izma: Ooh, Kronk, feel the power!
Kronk: Oh, yeah. I can feel it.


Yeah, so enough with the bad cheesy humor. I guess those earlier comments are just lost in cyberspace, but thanks to those that commented - I read them anyway. :D

leave a note

| last five entries |

Freedom - October 13, 2005
Space 3 - October 20, 2005
Space 2 - October 20, 2005
Space 1 - October 20, 2005
Design - October 20, 2005